Community Preservation

Those interested in applying for a grant from the Community Preservation Committee (CPC) for Community Housing, Historic Preservation, or Open Space/Recreation projects in the City may submit a Project Eligibility Form during the pre-application period, JULY 1ST TO AUGUST 31ST, 2024. Project Eligibility Forms will be available in-person in room 101 of City Hall starting July 1st. 
The Community Preservation Committee will review each application by the end of the pre-application period, August 31st. Only applications submitted during the pre-application period will be considered for 2024 grant funding. The CPC will host several First-Time Applicant workshops during the pre-application period for those that need application assistance (dates/times tbd). 
Full applications will be requested from pre-applicants following the pre-application period. You may not submit a full application to the CPC unless it is specifically requested. The CPC will make recommendations to the City Council for the release of grant funding for each finalist based on full applications. City Council gives final say on the release of CPC funding for each finalist.
If you have questions about the CPC Application Timeline, please contact Bianca Mercado,, (617)-466-4185. Or, read more about the Community Preservation Act.

About the Community Preservation Committee
At the 2016 general election, 66.5% of the citizens of Chelsea voted to adopt the provisions of the Community Preservation Act and impose a 1.5 percent surcharge on residential and commercial properties with exemptions for low and moderate income homeowners as well as an exemption on the first $100,000 of property value.  On December 19, 2016, the Chelsea City Council voted to establish by Ordinance the Community Preservation Committee to make recommendations on expenditures authorized by the Community Preservation Act. The recommendations of the Committee are sent to the City Council where the amounts can be affirmed, rejected, or lowered.  Funding recommendations may not be increased.

Board Members
Mayra Molina - Resident
Juana Lourdes Perez - Resident
Devra Zabot - Resident
Judith Dyer- Conservation Commission
Michelle Mirthes- Historical Commission
Sharon Cauffield- Housing Authority
Mimi Rancatore- Planning Board
Bianca Servellon- Recreation

Additional Information

Agendas & Minutes
Community Preservation Act
Project Eligibility Form